Seven Secrets #1 Review

Series: Seven Secrets
Issue: 1

Words: Tom Taylor
Illustrations: Daniele di Nicuolo
Colors: Walter Baiamonte & Katie Ranalli
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Published: August 12, 2020
Publisher’s Summary: For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased, Immortal Hulk) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets — words, wonders, weapons, and worse — with the power to change the world.. For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm, but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear — an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants. Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything.


Review

“The Seven Secrets. Words, wonders, weapons, and worse, with the power to change the world…in a heartbeat.”

While keeping secrets is often frowned upon, there’s no denying that doing so makes whatever situation said secrets are being kept in, interesting. And when the secrets being kept sacred have the power to change the world, making the stakes extremely high, the interest-elevating factor is compounded exponentially. Enter: Seven Secrets #1…

Stories about secret societies long-guarding world-shaping secrets aren’t anything new; however, Seven Secrets feels fresh thanks in part to Tom Taylor’s impressive characterization. With just this debut issue, Taylor creates the necessecary ground work for a long-winding tale that’s set to start while simultaneously providing readers with the details needed to care about the characters stationed at the heart of Seven Secrets.

It’s also important to note Seven Secrets #1 covers a good deal of ground, jumping back and forth through time, but it continues to move at an impressive pace. Despite the telling character moments in this issue, it never feels weighed down, or over-dramatic.

Illustrator, and series co-creator, Daniele di Nicuolo, packed this issue with stunning panels and pages filled with energy. Walter Baiamonte and Katie Ranalli’s colors add to the overall aesthetic, elevating the illustrations and adding to the clean and open feel of the book.

The Bottom Line

Seven Secrets #1 gets the series off the an impressive start and gives readers good reason to not only jump in, but stay along for the ride. 

Seven Secrets #1 Review
Seven Secrets #1 Review
The Bottom Line
Seven Secrets #1 gets the series off the an impressive start and gives readers good reason to not only jump in, but stay along for the ride.
8.7
Score

Charlie Chipman
Charlie Chipman
The kind of guy who almost always ends his e-mails with, "Cheers," Charlie serves as Editor-in-Chief here at The Brazen Bull where he often reviews comic books and television shows. His favorite punctuation mark is the interrobang‽

Most Recent

Jupiter’s Legacy Is Not Watchmen and That’s Okay: Netflix Original Series Review

Jupiter’s Legacy hits incredibly hard while offering viewers a well-crafted blend of caped-crusading-escapism and social commentary; this combination makes for a grounded viewing experience that’s as exciting as it is though-provoking. Jupiter’s Legacy is a must-watch series.

Eve #1 Review

Eve is more than just a typical “save the planet” story. It is more about a little girl’s courage and a love that endures even in simulation. Armed with the fake bear and a dinghy, her adventure starts.

Fear Case #3 Review

Fear Case is a mystery with characters worth caring about. As the nightmarish tale nears the end of the arc, everything matters, and no one is safe.
- Advertisment -