Seven Secrets #1 Review

Series: Seven Secrets
Issue: 1

Words: Tom Taylor
Illustrations: Daniele di Nicuolo
Colors: Walter Baiamonte & Katie Ranalli
Letterer: Ed Dukeshire

Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Published: August 12, 2020
Publisher’s Summary: For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased, Immortal Hulk) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets — words, wonders, weapons, and worse — with the power to change the world.. For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm, but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear — an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants. Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything.


Review

“The Seven Secrets. Words, wonders, weapons, and worse, with the power to change the world…in a heartbeat.”

While keeping secrets is often frowned upon, there’s no denying that doing so makes whatever situation said secrets are being kept in, interesting. And when the secrets being kept sacred have the power to change the world, making the stakes extremely high, the interest-elevating factor is compounded exponentially. Enter: Seven Secrets #1…

Stories about secret societies long-guarding world-shaping secrets aren’t anything new; however, Seven Secrets feels fresh thanks in part to Tom Taylor’s impressive characterization. With just this debut issue, Taylor creates the necessecary ground work for a long-winding tale that’s set to start while simultaneously providing readers with the details needed to care about the characters stationed at the heart of Seven Secrets.

It’s also important to note Seven Secrets #1 covers a good deal of ground, jumping back and forth through time, but it continues to move at an impressive pace. Despite the telling character moments in this issue, it never feels weighed down, or over-dramatic.

Illustrator, and series co-creator, Daniele di Nicuolo, packed this issue with stunning panels and pages filled with energy. Walter Baiamonte and Katie Ranalli’s colors add to the overall aesthetic, elevating the illustrations and adding to the clean and open feel of the book.

The Bottom Line

Seven Secrets #1 gets the series off the an impressive start and gives readers good reason to not only jump in, but stay along for the ride. 

The Bottom Line
Seven Secrets #1 gets the series off the an impressive start and gives readers good reason to not only jump in, but stay along for the ride.
8.7
Score

Charlie Chipman
Charlie Chipman
The kind of guy who almost always ends his e-mails with, "Cheers," Charlie serves as Editor-in-Chief here at The Brazen Bull where he often reviews comic books and television shows. His favorite punctuation mark is the interrobang‽

Most Recent

Review: Hulu’s ‘The United States vs. Billie Holiday’

The United States vs. Billie Holiday invokes awe of this larger-than-life woman and rage at the systems that forced that life to end too soon... systems that still exist today.

Interview: Artist Nathan Stockman on Savage (2021)

Interview: Artist Nathan Stockman on Savage (2021)

Valiant Preview: Savage (2021) #2

Savage (2021) #2 Preview: Mad geniuses Max Bemis (Worst X-Man Ever) and Nathan Stockman (Spidey) deliver over-the-top mayhem in this second...
- Advertisment -